Our People

Come on a journey with us.

Driven, professional and collaborative – the people behind Smart Freight are all propelled by a belief in what we do. Our team, Board, Advisory Council and China Expert Council share a sense of urgency that the global freight and logistics sector must make a bigger contribution to the climate and sustainability movement.

For job opportunities see here.

Our team

Sophie Punte, Executive Director
Folkert Bloembergen, Deputy Executive Director
Alan Lewis, Technical Development Director
Eszter Toth-Weedon, Senior Partnership Manager
Bonne Goedhart, Business Development Manager
Asma Ouchan, Business Development Representative
Mirjam Botman, Operations Manager
Megan Etheridge, Communications Coordinator
Joby Chia-Pei Huang, Program Coordinator
Lydia van Wijngaarden, Finance Assistant
Moritz Tölke, Junior Technical Manager
Suzanne Greene, Expert Advisor
Boyong Wang, Director Strategic Relations, SFC China
Su Li, Office Manager and Project Coordinator, SFC China
Yan Peng, Strategic Advisor and Chair China Expert Council, SFC China

Board of Directors

Mirko Buining (Chair), CEO of Buining & Partners, Netherlands
Adrian Weiler, CEO of INFORM, Germany
Jiangyan Wang, Executive Director of the China Sustainable Transportation Center, China
Sam Parker, Director of Shell Foundation, UK
Simon Ng, Director – Policy & Research at Business Environment Council, Hong Kong
Jose Viegas, Chairman of the Environment and Sustainability Board at EDP, and former Secretary-General of the International Transport Forum at the OECD
Ann Lee Carpenter, CEO and Co-Founder of Braid Theory
Sophie Punte, Executive Director, Smart Freight Centre

SFC Advisory Council

Our Advisory Council consists of leading experts from academic institutions, international organizations and business to ensure that SFC’s activities are best positioned to accelerate and scale energy efficiency and emission reductions in the freight sector and strengthen other efforts to achieve this mission.
Alan C. McKinnon, Head of Logistics Department & Professor of Logistics, Kuehne Logistics University
Alison Clafin, Director of Business Development – Maersk GTD
Claire Bryant, Corporate Social Responsibility Manager at Boskalis
Curt Rousseau, Senior Director, Applications Development at UPS
Ian Wainwright, Sustainable Urban Freight specialist and former Head of Freight and Fleet Programmes, Transport for London
Jan Fransoo, Professor of Operations Management & Logistics, University of Tilburg
Jari Kauppila, Head of Quantitative Policy Analysis and Foresight at International Transport Forum at the OECD, and Adjunct Professor in Transport Economics, Turku School of Economics
Jorge Tesler, Director of Centro de Logística y Sustentabilidad-Argentina
Laetitia DaBlanc, Director of Research, IFSTTAR/ Université Paris-Est
Ruth Banomyong, Dean, Thammasat Business School, Thammasat University
Sergio Barbarino, Chair of ALICE (Alliance for Logistics Innovation through Collaboration in Europe)

China Expert Council

The China Expert Council comprises leading experts on freight and logistics in China, covering business, policy and research perspectives. The council gives advice on our China strategy and take a lead role in our activities in China, especially the Smart Freight Forum.
Charles Wang, Director of the Center for Logistics and SCM, China Development Institute
Dalei Huang, Director of the Logistics Technology Center, COSCO Network e-Logistics
Jian Wang, General Manager, Sunjex Logistics
Jifu Guo, Director, Beijing Transport Research Institute
Jonathan Xue, Head of Global Transportation Business, Shenzhen DJ Innovation
Liu Liang, General Manager, China Merchant Logistics Holding Beijing Co. Ltd
Mats Harborn, Executive Director of Scania China Strategic Center, Scania
Yan Peng, Independent Consultant on Low Carbon and Sustainable Social Development
Yang Dongbo, Director of Energy Saving and Carbon Emission Research Department, Research Institute of Highways (RIOH)
Zhao Lei, Associate Professor, Tsinghua University
Zhou Zhicheng, Director of the Research Department, China Federation of Logistics Purchasing (CFLP)